Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


List of 12 Governors Who Have Dropped Their Deputy Governors Ahead Of August Polls

Anne Waiguru Tables Proof Of Disputed Foreign Trip

The majority of governors seeking re-election on August 9 have abandoned their deputies due to supremacy battles.

At least 12 county chiefs have chosen new running mates after “considering ethnic, clan, and gender cards.”

Governor Mutahi Kahiga of Nyeri has dropped his deputy Caroline Karugu in favour of businessman David Kinarire.

Governor Wilber Ottichilo of Vihiga has chosen Mr Wilberforce Kitiezo over Mr Patrick Saisi. Mr Saisi, who has grown to be a powerful figure in county politics, is running on the Equitable Party banner to replace his boss.

Governor Granton Samboja has also replaced Mr Majala Mlaghui in Taita Taveta with Priscilla Mwangeka, a former Voi mayor. Mr. Samboja and Mr. Mlaghui have been at odds since 2019.

Mr Abdifatah Sheikh Mohamed Diriye has been appointed as Governor Mohamed Abdi Mohamud’s running mate in Wajir. 

Governor Anne Waiguru of Kirinyaga has chosen Mr James Kinyua Mutugi, putting an end to his tense relationship with his deputy Peter Ndambiri.

Governor Francis Kimemia has replaced Cicilia Mbuthia with Mr. Isaac Gitura in Nyandarua. 

In West Pokot John Lonyangapuo has chosen Mr. Simon Koudomuk Kachapin after ending ties with Dr. Nicholas Atudonyang.

In Nakuru, Governor Lee Kinyanjui has chosen former Nakuru West parliamentary candidate Franciscar Kamuren over Mr. Erick Korir. 

Kiambu Governor James Nyoro has also replaced Dr. Joyce Ngugi with Dr. June Njambi Waweru.

Other Governors who have replaced their deputies include, Wycliffe Wangamati  (Bungoma) Ndiritu Muriithi (Laikipia) and Stanley Kiptis (Baringo)


According to political analyst Prof Edward Kisiangani, many Governors dropped their deputies due to political realignments. 

“Some adjustments have been done within their respective coalitions but from a different political party. Some governors mistreated their deputies that they cannot work together anymore,” he says.

Governors Anyang’ Nyong’o (Kisumu), Stephen Sang (Nandi), Kiraitu Murungi (Meru), Fahim Twaha (Lamu), Joseph Ole Lenku (Kajiado), Hillary Barchok (Bomet) and Amos Nyaribo (Nyamira) are the only one who have retained their deputies. 

Also Read: List of Raila Odinga’s Powerful Regional Campaign Team

Subscribe to watch latests videos
Click to comment

You May Also Like


(KDRTV) – Popular and controversial man of the cloth Pastor James Ng’ang’a of the Neno Evangelism Centre has a serious battle in his hands...


(KDRTV) – Zari Hassan is a Ugandan socialite and entrepreneur based in South Africa. She was married to the Late Uganda tycoon Ivan Don...


A high-ranking government official in Tanzania has claimed that Dr. John Pombe Magufuli was killed by the Chinese in collaboration with the Western Countries


Eric died in his house and spent a couple of days before he was discovered